01 May: Law-making

(Source: Europa.eu)

There are 3 main institutions involved in EU legislation:

the European Parliament, which represents the EU’s citizens and is directly elected by them;the Council of the European Union, which represents the governments of the individual member countries. The Presidency of the Council is shared by the member states on a rotating basis.the European Commission, which represents the interests of the Union as a whole.

Together, these three institutions produce through the “Ordinary Legislative Procedure” (ex “co-decision”) the policies and laws that apply throughout the EU. In principle, the Commission proposes new laws, and the Parliament and Council adopt them. The Commission …