15 Jun: ECDC begins epidemic monitoring of the EURO 2020/2021 Football Championship

(Source: ECDC)

Postponed for a year due to pandemic, EURO 2020 started on Friday 11 June 2021. The month-long European football competition will see 24 teams playing for the top European prize across eleven host countries, observed by some 460 000 spectators. ECDC has already begun enhanced epidemic intelligence activities to monitor the Championship and help keep it safe.

Between 11 June and 11 July 2021, a total of 51 games will be held, with COVID-19 restrictions in place, in 11 host countries, seven of which are EU Member States: Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania, and Spain. The …