14 Jul: Fragility and tensions in EU’s Eastern Partnership

Editor’s Blog: Produced in collaboration with the EU Buzz team 

As part of the European Union’s Global Strategy and European Neighbourhood Policy, the EU has a special relationship with its six Eastern neighbours: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova  and Ukraine. This relationship is known as the Eastern Partnership (EaP). The objective of the initiative is to deliver tangible results for citizens across the region. However, since its launch in 2009, the actual impact of the Eastern Partnership has been constantly questioned. 

In a move which highlights the fragility and tensions of the relationships, Belarus has recently suspended its participation in the …