CAP funding

02 Jul: Rural development – The seed for growth in Europe

Editor’s Blog: Produced in collaboration with the EU Buzz team 

Since the inception of the European Union in 1993, the club of 6, founders – Germany, France, Italy, Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg, has grown to a union on 27, with only one member, the United Kingdom, entering and leaving. The Union covers a total area of 4,233,255.3 km² with an estimated total population of 447 million. Whilst collaboration and convergence are relatively successful at country level, there are sadly regional and territorial disparities which exist across the EU causing both socio and economic inequality and challenges. It is the mandate of …