Nobel Peace Prize: Statement by High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell on awarding the 2021 Nobel Prize for Peace to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov

(Source: EEAS)

The European Union welcomes the decision to award the Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression and congratulate them wholeheartedly. We fully subscribe to the Nobel Committee’s acknowledgment that freedom of expression is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace worldwide.

Maria Ressa has not shied away to demonstrate her commitment to facts as the basis for truth and trust in a democracy. Her dedication to journalism, in the face of numerous ongoing legal actions and her conviction, is an inspiration to all who believe in the importance of free and independent journalism. Her work offers hope not only to the people in the Philippines, but across South-East Asia and the world.

Dmitry Muratov has been defending free press and freedom of speech for decades. His award is also an acknowledgement of the courage and commitment displayed by the entire community of independent journalists in Russia, who continue to work under unprecedented pressure, often at great personal risk.

Independent journalism, including investigative journalism, is one of the strongest tools our democracies possess to hold governments accountable, monitor democratic processes, counter disinformation and relentlessly challenge the abuse of power, human rights violations and corruption.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.