EU statement at the IAEA Board of Governors on Israeli Nuclear Capabilities, as delivered on 10 June 2022

(Source: EEAS)


I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union. The following countries align themselves with this statement: North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Albania*, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Iceland+, Liechtenstein+, Norway+, Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Georgia and San Marino.

The EU is disappointed that the issue of Israeli Nuclear Capabilities has once again been brought before this Board. The EU remains convinced that a consensual approach, as set out in the 2010 NPT Review Conference Action Plan, is the only way to make progress towards implementing the 1995 NPT Resolution on the Middle East.

Thank you, Chair.


* Candidate Countries North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania as well as potential Candidate Country Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are members of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.