EU marks World Press Freedom Day and launches 2021 EU Prize for Journalism

Source: EEAS

To mark 3 May, World Press Freedom Day in line with this year’s theme ‘Information as a Public Good’, EU Ambassador to Georgia Carl Hartzell issued a statement:

“In today’s digital era, we are drowning in information, especially in the Covid-19-related ‘infodemic’. In this context, quality and non-partisan journalism is a ‘vaccine’ against disinformation,  and journalists are our key allies in helping democracies function. Many thanks for your crucial contributions. The EU stands with you and for the freedom needed for you to do your important work.”

In line with tradition, Ambassador Hartzell also used this occasion to launch the 2021 EU Prize for Journalism:

“Today we launch the ninth edition of the EU Prize for Journalism. The Prize recognizes and rewards the highest standards of journalistic ethics, professionalism and quality. A month ago, I awarded the winners of the EU Prize for Journalism 2020 for their excellent entries demonstrating deep understanding of relevant and complex themes to the modern Georgian society.’’

On the occasion of the launch of the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism, the Head of EUMM Marek Szczygieł noted:

“On World Press Freedom Day, I would like to stress how paramount the role of free, independent, and professional press is to build confidence, lasting peace and healthy democracies. In conflict or post-conflict situations, this means a sensible, free of prejudice, ethical, and accurate reporting, otherwise called “Peace Journalism”. It is in order to encourage such practices, and reward the best works each year, that the EU Monitoring Mission in Georgia is launching, as part of the EU Prize for Journalism, a Special Prize for Peace Journalism and best conflict-sensitive reporting.”

About the EU Prize for Journalism

Established by the European Union Delegation to Georgia in 2012, the EU Prize for Journalism encourages professionalism and ethical conduct in Georgian journalism. The Special Prize for conflict-sensitive journalism rewards media outlets contributing to confidence building and peace and is handed out by the European Union Monitoring Mission.

The rules of the EU Prize for Journalism take inspiration from the principles of the Georgian Charter of Journalistic Ethics and seek to encourage professionalism and ethics in Georgian Journalism.

In 2021, the EU Prize for Journalism will be awarded in seven categories:

Best story in print or online media;

Best feature story in broadcast or online media;

Best investigative story in print, online, or broadcast media;

Best online or print blog, opinion or column in print, online or broadcast media;

The most innovative and original piece of work in print, broadcast or online media;

Best documentary photo reflecting EU values;

Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work contributing to confidence-building and peace in the context of armed conflicts in Georgia (The EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism).

Detailed information and rules for submission are available at

(link is external)

The winners of the first six categories will receive monetary prizes.

The winner of the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism will receive a 30 day fellowship with the Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London.

The deadline for submission of all entries is 30 November, 2021.

The application form, rules and submission guidelines are available at

(link is external)

For any further information, please contact:

EU Prize for Journalism:

Tamriko Mikadze, EU Delegation to Georgia  –

(link sends e-mail)

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.