EASO publishes a COI report: Somalia Actors

(Source: EASO)

Today, the European Asylum Support Office (EASO) published a Country of Origin Information (COI) report titled – Somalia: Actors (2021)

The report, EASO COI Report: Somalia – Actors is divided into seven macro-chapters. Chapter 1 provides a general overview of the various conflict dynamics in the country (Country Background). Chapters 2 to 6 describe the main country-wide actors in Somalia and in the Somali conflict, namely: the Federal Government of Somalia, al-Shabaab, the clans and militias, AMISOM and AFRICOM, and ISIS-Somalia. For each one of these, the report details strengths, characteristics, justice provision and relative human rights conduct/abuses by various actors. Chapter 7 provides an overview of the the Federal Member State (Jubbaland, South West State, Hirshabelle, Benadir/Mogadishu, Galmudug, Puntland), as well as Somaliland. Each regional sub-chapter includes a brief description of relevant dynamics, territorial control, governance, local armed forces, access to justice, as well as security forces’ human rights conduct.

The report was drafted internally by EASO, with one chapter drafted by France (DIDR COI unit of the French Office for the Protection of Refugees and Stateless People). The report was written in accordance with the EASO COI Report Methodology. It was peer-reviewed internally, and externally by the Austrian Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum, Country of Origin Information Department (B/III), Africa Desk, as well as by the Austrian Centre for Country of Origin and Asylum Research and Documentation (ACCORD).

The report can be downloaded from the EASO COI Portal.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.