Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Belarus

(Source: Council of the EU and European Council)

On 15 November 2021, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/19901 amending Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Council adopted a decision amending the listing criteria used to decide on restrictive measures, in view of the situation at the EU border with Belarus.

The Candidate Countries The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania2, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.


1 Published on 16.10.2021 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 405, p.10
2 The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.