Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Mali

(Source: Council of the EU and European Council)

On 13 December 2021, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/2208.1

This Decision establishes a new framework for targeted restrictive measures against individuals and entities responsible for threatening the peace, security or stability of Mali, or for obstructing the implementation of its political transition.

The Candidate Countries The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania2, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.


1Published on 14.12.2021 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 446, p. 44.

2The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.