Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Belarus and the involvement of Belarus in the Russian aggression against Ukraine

(Source: Council of the EU and European Council)

On 3 June 2022, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/8811 amending Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Council decided to take further restrictive measures in response to Belarus’s involvement in Russia’s aggression against Ukraine by adding 12 individuals and eight entities in the list of natural and legal persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures set out in Annex I to Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania2, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.


1Published on 03.06.2022 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 153, p.77

2North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.