Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilizing the situation in Ukraine

(Source: Council of the EU and European Council)

On 23 February 2022, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/2641.

The Council decided to take further restrictive measures in response to Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine.

The Candidate Countries North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania2, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.


1 Published on 23.02.2022 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 42 I, p. 95.

2 North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.