Court of Auditors: MEPs confirm new Dutch member

(Source: European Parliament)

Parliament endorsed Stephanus Abraham Blok, nominated by the Dutch government, as a member of the European Court of Auditors (ECA).

414 MEPs voted in favour, 112 against, 57 abstained.

In its committee vote on 15 June, the Budgetary Control committee gave Blok’s nomination a favourable opinion, following a hearing with the candidate earlier the same day.

EU member states will make the final decision on the appointment

The Dutch post at the ECA has been vacant since April 2022, following the death of the incumbent, Mr Alex Brenninkmeyer.

Mr Abraham Blok

Since 2012 Mr Blok has held various positions in the Dutch government; from May 2021 until January 2022, he was the minister of economic affairs and climate policy. See his full CV in the draft report.


The EU Treaty allows each member state to propose a candidate for the European Court of Auditors. The Council of the EU, after consulting Parliament, appoints the selected nominees for a six-year term.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.