Answer to Written Question: COVID-19 support for Andorra, San Marino and Monaco

(Source: European Parliament)



Answer given by Ms Kyriakides

on behalf of the European Commission


The EU Vaccine Strategy[1] adopted in June 2020 was underpinned financially by the Emergency Support Instrument, which financed a part of the upfront costs faced by vaccine producers. As the Emergency Support Instrument is only available to EU Member States, no third countries, including Andorra, Monaco and San Marino, are parties to the common purchasing of vaccines. However, Member States are free to resell or donate parts of their quotas to third countries. Furthermore, the Commission has set up a Vaccine Sharing Mechanism, which facilitates the sharing and donation of vaccines by Member States to third countries. In addition, the European Union is supporting the global access to vaccines through COVAX and Team Europe has so far provided EUR 2.5 billion to the COVAX Facility.

As for other support, Andorra is officially an observer to the EU Health Security Committee for the meetings related to COVID-19 and has been participating regularly, thus benefitting from the discussions on the response to COVID-19. Similar participation can be extended to Monaco and San Marino should those two countries request it.


%d bloggers like this: